Visa-Free Travel to Cape Verde for Citizens of 36 European Countries

Are you planning a trip to Cape Verde? As of January 2019, you don’t need a visa if you’re a citizen of one of 36 European countries (EU, United Kingdom, Andorra, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, San Marino, Switzerland, and Vatican).

Visa-free travel is expected to boost tourism in Cape Verde

You don’t need to apply for a visa as long as you don’t plan to stay in Cape Verde for more than 30 days. Instead, you should register online and pay a small fee for this privilege before you travel. You should have a passport valid for at least 6 months from the date of entry into Cape Verde.

Airport Security Tax

A new Airport Security Tax, known as Taxa de Segurança Aeroportuária (TSA) in Portuguese, is required when travelling both to Cape Verde and within the archipelago.

For domestic flights, you will be charged 150 Cape Verdean escudos (about €1.40 / £1.25) when your airline tickets are issued.

For international flights, the TSA costs 3,400 Cape Verdean escudos (about €31 / £27) paid when you register online on the EASE website. You’ll need to enter your passport and travel details (flights, arrival and departure dates, and accommodation). You should register up to 5 days before the date of travel.

Cape Verdean passport holders, children under two years old, and passengers on official missions are exempt from paying the TSA.


Comments are closed.